Mythic Adventures

Sacred Stories from around the Globe

Episode 88 The Dawning of the Christ Culture, Part 1

Over the next several weeks, I’ll share excerpts from some lectures I’m giving this fall at Portage Chapel Hill United Methodist Church in Portage, Michigan (USA).  Today I introduce the subject of the course: how the Christ Culture grew to be a world-changing power within the Graeco-Roman and Jewish cultures of the time.  Click on the link below to listen (13:15).

(Correction: H. Richard Niebuhr was the author of Christ and Culture, not his brother Reinhold Niebuhr.)

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Episode 88 The Dawning of the Christ Culture, Part 1

  1. That was great. I am looking forward to learning some more. I have very little knowledge of the culture of the time. We are so poor at putting ourselves in the right context when we discuss people from other eras. Hope all is well. Xxx

  2. Thanks, Constantina. We are all well here. I was glad to hear that you were able to visit Assisi. What a trip that must have been! Thanks for listening and adding your comments.

Leave a comment